Lake union on Eastlake side

An area to discuss your Bassin' adventures.
Forum rules
Forum Post Guidelines: This Forum is rated “Family Friendly”. Civil discussions are encouraged and welcomed. Name calling, negative, harassing, or threatening comments will be removed and may result in suspension or IP Ban without notice. Please refer to the Terms of Service and Forum Guidelines post for more information. Thank you
meandermeadows
Petty Officer

Lake union on Eastlake side

Post by meandermeadows » Sun Jun 12, 2016 10:35 am

So I discovered while talking to my friend Quadfather yesterday that there are smallmouth bass in Lake Union. Please don't judge; I am fairly new to fishing, and haven't done any bass fishing yet, although I have been getting geared up to do so. After sifting through dozens of reports it seems evident that the popular spots are on the canal over towards Fremont. I see guys going down to the lake with float tubes though, and Quadfather says he has heard of fishing on this side of the lake before. Does anyone fish this side and, if so, where, and what do you use? It would really enable me to get out fishing a lot more often if I could just jump in at the park that is 5 blocks from my house.
Fisken Morder!!!

G-Man
Admiral

Re: Lake union on Eastlake side

Post by G-Man » Sun Jun 12, 2016 11:35 am

Yes there are small and largemouth bass in Lake Union, as well as perch, crappie and pikeminnow. It is popular to fish in amoungst the houseboats and as long as you don't make contact with them, you're in the right. Most people living on the lake are used to it, but there's always those one or two owners who feel they own the water underneath their "house." I've used jigs and plastics and kept away from anything with a treble hook. Mostly to keep from inadvertently snagging up on floating objects like people's houses.